RSS Feed

DiabetesBlogWeek2015 – GO!

Posted on

16529245533_9739d501a5_o

 

This is my first post as a blogger because I wanted to participate with diabetes blog week this year.  I will add to this site as time goes by.  So on to today’s topic: I CAN

I CAN…

Diabetes is a chronic illness that can be both life threatening and manageable.  Chances are, if you are reading this blog, that is not a revelation.  However, for me the complexities of having diabetes has taught me that life is precious and to enjoy the moments as they come.

So here is brief list of some of the ways I have embraced the moment.

  • learned to play the guitar
  • became a registered Therapy Dog Team
  • started a blog

Here’s to many more moments to come.

For you as well.

8 responses »

  1. I am so thrilled that you have begun blogging! I would love to hear more about your life with a diabetes alert dog! We have a few voices in the community who are a part of such a team, but not enough. I’m looking forward to following your blog! Thanks for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Hi Heather. Thanks for being my first commentator. Actually, the Therapy Dog program is different from the Diabetes Alert Dogs (although I have considered training my dog to do that I haven’t yet). Therapy Dogs, Inc. (soon to change their name) is a group through which you can obtain certification (after taking the course and required testing) to take your dog to different places to provide comfort. For example, going to nursing homes or hospitals. The local group I am a part of does a regular program which is geared toward children with special needs. Often these families with these children have too much on their plate to have a pet in the home so this program gives them a place to come and get all of the benefits of interaction with the dogs.
      Hopefully one day I can look into the other training. Thank you for the encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Congrats on starting your blog! I look forward to reading more posts from you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Welcome to blogging! I only started my blog last year (I think) and sometimes I don’t post much but it can be a great way to connect with others. I’m curious if the name of your blog is related to the Omnipod (which I use) — so will be looking forward to reading more posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Those are some great accomplishments!! And I’m so thrilled that you started a blog and are participating this week. Thank you so much for joining in!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Nice to meet you, Carmen, and Inlook forward to hearing more of your story. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Followed your comment over at Death of a Pancreas. Nice to meet another LADA.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

