RSS Feed

A First Time for Everything I Suppose

Posted on

Here’s to my first LOW reading on my Dexcom.  I didn’t get a picture of it but just before I was 45 slanty arrow-down and my meter said 47.  So I’m not sure just how low LOW was.  It didn’t stay LOW too long.  I’m at a happy 63 slanty arrow-up as I type.  Funny thing is I didn’t even have a clue that I was getting that low.  I’m not sure why I didn’t hear the alarm come to think of it.

Trying to reconstruct where I went wrong is always a mystery:  I was getting low and knew dinner would be late so I bolused for my before dinner snack of crackers and a cup-of-noodles (approx. 20 carbs).  Then, when I sat down to dinner I was high with a arrow-up.  I estimated my carbs (29g) and bolused for dinner.  I didn’t think anything of the double arrow-down alarm since I was so high.  Next time checked Dex and was arrow-down at 97. We continued our game of charades with the kids.  The next time I checked my Dex was after brushing my teeth.  47 slanty arrow-down.  What?!   Meter test confirmed Dexcom reading.  I didn’t feel anything yet.  Only a while later did I feel slightly numb in my fingers and my daughter said my hands felt cold.  It’s not until now at 87 arrow-up that I feel a bit of heart pounding.  Definitely not a typical low for me.

So where did I go wrong?  Rhetorical.  Diabetes is questions and guesses.  Answers?  Not so much.

Well, I’m level now at 102 so I really need to turn in for the night…

Leave a Reply

