RSS Feed

Chrysanthemum Cupcakes

Posted on

Continuing with my Monday posts as a minimum, here is a prior post I wrote on my daughter’s birthday entitled:

Wonky Birthday to You!

IMG_3508

Happy Birthday to my sweet girl!  Tonight I had my first hypo unaware while awake.  My Dexcom has not been reliable this sensor (Ob..vious-ly).   It has run consistently around 40 points off my meter.  So when I checked Dex before we were to have birthday cupcakes I saw a steady arrow with 94.  OK.  Not bad.  Maybe a cup of tea for me and a hearty rendition of that traditional birthday tune.  I’m not sure what gave me pause to think, “maybe I should just test to check that.”  Needless to say the 52 that came up on my meter was a definitely a WWW?!  (That is to say, “WO! Wait. What?” Come on, work with me here.  I’m trying to get with the times and add to the growing lexicon of texting acronyms in honor of my teen daughter’s birthday) as was the 54 for the very next strip.  Come to think of it, my fingertips did then feel a little numb.  That’s new for me.  I usually feel wonky first.  Wonky is my term for disjunct, wobbly, slightly nervous, and uncoordinated.  But no, that was definitely not on the menu for this hypo.  I might add that I usually feel hypos starting in the 80’s so I was a more than a little surprised at this reading (again obvious).  As we were lighting the candle I’m thinking, “get off the roof, get off the roof, get off the roof.”  A line from Mulan, the Disney rendering of a Chinese fable.  It’s one of those things I say when I am trying to focus on doing something important and doing it quickly.  In this case, I needed to get the birthday candle lit and the song sung and half a cupcake shoved in my mouth as quick as possible because now I really was starting to feel it.  Headache, numb fingers, flushed?  I don’t know.  It was strange.  So, the half cupcake, about 4 oz. of milk and a cup of hot tea with cream did the trick.  Unfortunately a little too well.  233 now.  Sigh.

I’ll get this right.  I know I will.  I just need to up my learning curve.  And probably just use glucose tabs to control the lows.  But yuck!  I’d much rather have the half cupcake.  Or, at least, the marshmallow topping which made the cupcake look like a chrysanthemum and taste like Peeps.  I’m not too wild about the cake part in general.

Anyway, I’m taking a break for the night from my Dex.  It wasn’t helpful this sensor. (Another big O).  Tomorrow is another day, another sensor.  And I do have a gaggle of 13 year olds to manage for a late night and possible fire pit complete with pizza and s’mores…

Leave a Reply

