RSS Feed

Diabetes Blog Week 2016; Day 2 – The Other Half

Posted on

730x1207[5]

We think a lot about the physical component of diabetes, but the mental component is just as significant. How does diabetes affect you or your loved one mentally or emotionally? How have you learned to deal with the mental aspect of the condition? Any tips, positive phrases, mantras, or ideas to share on getting out of a diabetes funk? (If you are a caregiver to a person with diabetes, write about yourself or your loved one or both!)

Just Add Whipped Cream!

Whipped cream can do wonders for your psyche.  It’s fun.  It cascades into vast piles of fluffy perfection with just one touch of the nozzle.  It’s light.  It looks like a cottony white cloud on a perfect summer day.  It’s happiness in a can.  Just watch the people coming out of your local Starbucks with beverages bedecked in creamy dreamy sublimity.  They’re smiling.

AND…according to the Calorie King website, it is a mere 0.4g carbohydrates per tablespoon.

Just Add Whipped Cream!

(My daughter just glanced at the screen and said, “Wait;  what?  Are you OK Mom?”)

OK.  Then consider the following picture:

The vial on the right is:

a.  half empty.

b.  half full.

c.  obviously just refilled with water to take this photo since no PWD would actually have a full vial out of the refrigerator if there was an already opened vial.

Yes, I’m going there.  For me it is all about perspective.  That’s not to say I’m always a half full kind of gal.  But it does help me to try to find a bright side;  a silver lining;  a half full vial.

Today’s topic isn’t about the day-to-day though.  It’s about how to cope when you don’t want to cope any more;  how to find a way out of the Diabetes Funk.

Tricks for coping?  I suppose I just allow the funk to happen.

I blog about it.  I have to confess that this blog is not only about giving back to the DOC by sharing my experiences.  It’s also a way for me to wrap my head around it all.

I laugh about it.  For example, I prefer to use the acronym BS when referring to my glucose levels.  I giggle to hear my daughter reminding me not to say “I’m high right now” in public.  Thankfully not a phrase I ever had to think about before Diabetes.

I paint it.  I have my resident artists help me paint my pods.  When my oldest daughter asked me what to paint this last time I flippantly replied, “elbows.”  Yep, you guessed it, I sported an elbow on my next pod.

I live it and move on.  To get caught up in self recriminations is counter productive.  It’s OK to be not OK.  It’s also OK to focus on something else when you just can’t think about diabetes for another moment.

And, it’s OK sometimes to…

Just Add Whipped Cream!  Cheers!

9 responses »

  1. Oh, you wrote about my true obsession, Whipped Cream !! I love the stuff and always have.

    I referred your blog to the TUDiabetes blog page for the week of May 16, 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh that drink looks so, so good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Everyone needs a break sometimes. We are coping with diabetes 24/7, glad you have found an outlet in whipped cream!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Sounds like a great plan – more whipped cream!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. OK sounds like a a good plan in theory but I’m one of those weirdos that doesn’t like whipped cream! I love how you said you filled one of the vials of insulin with water haha

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. You definitely add a healthy dose of humor to dealing with the other side of diabetes. I’d love to see the elbow pod!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Rachel. Humor is definitely important to dealing with D to me (and life in general). I’ll be updating the Pod Art Galleries sometime in the near future and the elbow pod will be in Gallery II.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

