RSS Feed

Diabetes Blogweek 2016; Day 3 – Happy Hamster Hunting!

Posted on

730x1207[5]

“There is an old saying that states “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”. I’m willing to bet we’ve all disagreed with this at some point, and especially when it comes to diabetes. Many advocate for the importance of using non-stigmatizing, inclusive and non-judgmental language when speaking about or to people with diabetes. For some, they don’t care, others care passionately. Where do you stand when it comes to “person with diabetes” versus “diabetic”, or “checking” blood sugar versus “testing”, or any of the tons of other examples? Let’s explore the power of words, but please remember to keep things respectful.”

I haven’t had much time to put together any clear thoughts on today’s topic.  I was, however, able to read a few of the other posts.

Colleen from D-Meanderings was the first post that I read and I really could identify with her opening sentence.  She also brought up topic of Medicare & CGMS which is worth a look.  Link here.

During my attempts to fill out the personalize-this-message section of the JRDF’s contact your senator form I wrote two paragraphs.  One which I included and one which I deleted at the last minute.  I didn’t think the deleted paragraph appropriate there but though the DOC might get a chuckle.

Here is what I wrote:

I currently am using CGM technology and would like to add that using a continuous glucose monitor is essential to getting a clearer picture of how the insulin therapy is working. No two persons are alike in their responses to insulin or the myriad of other factors that effect blood sugar values. Using a CGM is the only way to really understand how your body reacts to different foods, stress, exercise, and sickness.

Not using a CGM would be like trying to capture your pet hamster in a darkened room full of furniture where you are allowed to turn on the light for only two seconds at a time and must wait at least two hours between each lighting with a maximum of six times per day.

Happy Hamster Hunting and Good Night Then!

One response »

  1. Haha yes, good analogy. I definitely couldn’t live without my CGM! (Never thought I would say that three years ago!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

