RSS Feed

Diabetes Blogweek 2016; Day 4 – The Healthcare Experience

Posted on

730x1207[5]

“Most people who live with a chronic illness end up with a lot of experience when it comes to dealing with healthcare. How would you improve or change your healthcare experience? What would you like to see happening during medical visits with your healthcare team? How about when dealing with your health insurance companies? What’s your Healthcare Wish List or Biggest Frustration? Today is the day to share it all!”

For the sake of brevity I am going to just have a few bullet comments today.  These are a few things I’d like to see changed (mostly insurance related):

  • I have Type 1 diabetes.  My pancreas isn’t going to suddenly start producing insulin.  Why, oh why, do I have to keep getting new referrals to continue to see my endocrinologist.
  • The insurance company establishes guidelines for qualification for CGM coverage.  What they consider qualifying is basically equals really out of range A1c’s – either too high or too low.  How does that make sense to deny a patient continuing coverage once they maintain a reasonable A1c using a CGM?
  • I’m not retirement/medicare age yet but it will be here all too soon.  We all will eventually and so it makes sense for us all to get behind this Medicare & CGMS bill.  Thanks to Colleen of D-Meanderings for bringing that to my attention in her post Wednesday.

 

One response »

  1. I am anxiously awaiting my first c-peptide test ever when I get to Medicare next year. I wonder if they will discover that diabetes has just been a joke and misdiagnosis since 1976. Fortunately I don’t need to get updated referrals to my endo:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

