RSS Feed

D-Blog Week 2017; Thursday – The Kindess of a Stranger

Posted on
DBW2017.gifThrowback Thursday: What Brings Me Down – Thursday 5/18
Today let’s revist a prompt from 2014 – May is Mental Health Month so now seems like a great time to explore the emotional side of living with, or caring for someone with, diabetes. What things can make dealing with diabetes an emotional issue for you and / or your loved one, and how do you cope? (Thanks again to Scott for this 2014 topic.)

 

It seems this week has been the week of de-railed plans.  Then there’s the complete lack of focus even as I walk from room to room.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve typed and erased sentences just for today’s post.  It happens.  That’s all I can say.

Day before yesterday I had to drive my husband to work at the last minute.  That meant I was engaged to pick him up after his workday ended.  After I picked him up we were driving through another neighborhood and our car made a strange beeping noise.  He was on his phone for a work related call at the time.  We pulled to the side of the road and discovered our tire was completely, on-the-rim flat.  I remembered we had roadside assistance through our insurance so I called them while he completed his work call.  The insurance company sent a tow truck to take us to the nearest tire store but only one person could ride in the truck with the driver.  I decided to stay in the neighborhood and walk around until he could pick me up.  It was a beautiful day and such a lovely neighborhood.  Enter diabetes into the story.

About 20 minutes into my sauntering and gazing at all the pretty flowers and greenery my Dexicom starts to alarm.  Luckily I had my purse and my latest favorite hypo fix – ginger chews.  The problem is, I still had at least 30 more minutes of wandering time.  I had started chatting with a lady who was walking her dog.  In the middle of our chat, my husband called me to let me know how much longer it would be.  Overhearing the conversation she very kindly offered to take me to my husband.  It was only a couple of miles away but further than I felt up to walking at the moment.  I was probably ok to find a place to sit and wait it out.  But all things considered, I took the ride.

It is often a hard thing to accept or ask for help.  But Diabetes has a way of humbling a person; exposing all our frailities; bringing us down.  And that which brings us down, ultimately lifts us more than we thought possible.  I was touched by the kindness of a stranger.  I will not forget.  I will extend that same kindness when and where I find the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

