RSS Feed

D-Blog Week 2017; Wednesday

Posted on
DBW2017.gifThe Blame Game – Wednesday 5/17
Having diabetes often makes a visit to the doctor a dreaded experience, as there is invariably bad news of one kind or another.  And sometimes the way the doctor talks to you can leave you feeling like you’re at fault.  Or maybe you have a fantastic healthcare team, but have experienced blame and judgement from someone else in your life – friend, loved one, complete stranger.  Think about a particularly bad instance, how that person talked to you, the words they used and the conversation you had.  Now, the game part.  Let’s turn this around.  If you could turn that person into a puppet, what would you have them say that would leave you feeling empowered and good about yourself?   Let’s help teach peoiupe how to support us, rather than blame us!  (Thank you, Brian, for inspiring this topic.)

 

I’m sure I’ll meet them; the random strangers who judge and condemn.  It’s just that I don’t let those kinds of people get to me as easily as I once would have.  I suppose that’s a silver lining about getting diabetes later in life.  I’m much less concerned about what other people think.  I figure it’s their problem to figure out.  I have enough on my plate.

That’s not to say that I’ve never had the odd comment bother me.  I went to the eye doctor for my annual dilated eye exam.  She looked at the most recent A1c in my record, scowled and said something to the effect of “you need to get that under control.”  I just remained stoic and didn’t answer.  My endocrinologist was OK with it.  She helped me to tweak my settings on my pump.  She thought my numbers were acceptable.  So I just shrugged off the optometrist’s remarks to her youth (turns out I was wrong about that, she was ten years older than I thought – suppose we all judge and condemn from time to time).

The point is: we all go by what experience has taught us.  We take what we are taught and what we have seen first hand and form opinions as we try to interpret our day-to-day experiences.  Unfortunately, in the case of diabetes education, there has been far too much misinformation taught from the medical institutions down.  The advertising using diabetes to sell sugary products, is just as much to blame.  One of the most obnoxious advertisements I heard was on the radio in the car one year before Easter.  A local chocolate company thought it would be cute to tout their chocolate bunny as worth getting diabetes while playing a heart monitor slowing and flatlining in the background.  To me that went beyond the need to educate; it was wrong on so many levels.  I’m not sure how to play the “game change” with that advertisement.

So I’ll just leave it at that.  I look forward to reading everyone’s  Blame Game Change posts.  I have a feeling, the way my week is going, that I will still be catching up next week.

2 responses »

  1. Ugh, who in the world would have thought that was a good advertisement. So wrong 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

