RSS Feed

D-Blog Week 2017; Friday – Let It Grow/Blessed Beyond Measure

Posted on
DBW2017.gifMore Than Diabetes – Friday 5/19
Lets wrap up the week by sharing a little more about ourselves, beyond the chronic illness we or our loved ones live with.  Share an interest, hobby, passion, something that is YOU.  If you want to explore how it relates to or helps with diabetes you can.   Or let it be a part of you that is completely separate from diabetes, because there is more to life than just diabetes!  (This topic is a suggestion from the 2016 #DBlogWeek survey.)

 

I’m a somewhat private person.  Especially when it comes to online activities.  I started by commenting on posts but it felt really awkward at first.

This blog week is the 3rd one I’ve participated in.  I started this blog on Day 1, Diabetes Blog Week 2015.

At present my chief occupation is chauffeur.  I get paid in smiles, hugs, eye-rolls and attitude ;).  I have three children spread out which seemed really smart when they were little.  Now it can be challenging trying to juggle schedules, emotions, puberty, young adulthood, etc.  They are 20, 15 ½ and 12.  I have to add, with all bias intended, that they are really amazing individuals.  So is their father!  He is the love of my life.


I love to plant flowers and grow herbs.  There’s nothing like cooking with fresh ingredients.  I have never had much success with tomatoes.  Perhaps because I’m not overly fond of them.  My husband is though.  This year I’ll probably just frequent the local farmer’s markets to supply his tomato sandwich fixes.  It will mean less time and expense.


I love hummingbirds.  I’m doing a happy dance right now because I just saw my first one of the season at the feeder outside of the window.


I like to create things.  I crochet and have dabbled with the basic stitch of knitting.  I’ve made a couple of baby quilts.  I like to draw when the compulsion/inspiration strikes.  I’ve painted a few small paintings.  I can’t seem to finish the big one I started because I don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to color mixing.

I like to read.  Some of my favorite characters include; Sherlock Holmes, Harry Potter, Natty Bumpo, Bilbo Baggins…really, too many to name.  I’ve read quite a few series in the young adult category — previewing because I like to know what my children are reading.  We’ve read the Hobbit aloud to the children at least twice.

Music is a big part of my world.  My husband is a professional musician and we met in college. Instruments I have played include: flute, piccolo, mellophone, french horn, trumpet, piano, glockenspiel, and guitar.  I am a soprano.

I have to say some of my favorite music has been the voices of my children.  My son used to sing himself to sleep at night when he was a little tyke.  My heart still smiles thinking about those times.  I affectionately call my 15 ½ year old my “Baby Radio” as she is constantly in full voice around the house.  They can all be rather loud at times but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

It is a full and wonderful life.  I am blessed beyond measure.  And I am grateful to have found the DOC for support and encouragement.  Thank you.

p.s.  I can’t post the personal without including a photo of my furry daughter; walking buddy and therapy dog extraordinaire.  Aussie Love to all!

 

 

12 responses »

  1. I have never seen a humming bird, but the photo looks incredible. Your dog is very adorable =)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. I had to be super still to get that shot. At one time (not holding the camera of course) I had six hummingbirds land on my hands. It was incredible.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Your hummingbird photo is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. You are amazing and can do such a range of incredible things! I love how you talk about your family! It has been a privilege to get to know you better this week x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I love that you “get paid in smiles, hugs, eye-rolls and attitude”. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Are you Aussie, or is that just an expression? But then I see you’re a podder, so you obviously don’t live here…

    Like

    Reply
    • Aussie love refers to the love coming from my Australian Shepherd in the picture. She does love pretty much everyone she meets ;). Funny enough, despite the name, the breed is an American breed.

      The Omnipod isn’t availble there?

      Like

      Reply
  7. You’re not silly. I don’t imagine it’s a common breed there (?). My dog’s fur is so thick that she doesn’t do well in the heat. I shave her down in the summer.

    I’m so glad I have access to the Omnipod. For me I didn’t even consider a tubed pump because I tend to be a klutz. I can’t name how many times I’ve pulled the phone out of my pocket walking by a cabinet or door knob when I’ve had the headphones attached.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

